July 9th Market:

During the week, I love to take afternoon walks and check on the status of the farm. During my walks, I always seem to find something amazing and I happily snap a picture and post it on Facebook.  I am so amazed at how much work Matt gets done all by himself!  During the season, he is out working at 6:30 in the morning and finally settles back in to the house around 6 for dinner, with Sage and I and then back out to work until 9:00.  He gets it all done and I am so proud of what he does. The fact that our child understands where his food comes from and the importance of sustainable farming is priceless to me.  Another bonus, he is the only kid I know that eats his vegetables!  If you would like to track the progress of our farm, like our Facebook Black Creek Farm page.  I just put it together Monday and am real excited about how it is forming up.

As many of you have figured out, I LOVE to cook!  I especially love to cook Matt’s food!  I swear, I wasn’t a good cook until I married a farmer!  His delicious, fresh food makes it so darn easy!  I have always read about people who were substituting zucchini noodles for pasta noodles.  I was always intrigued to try it out.  I did Monday night, and I have to say it was one of my top favorite recipes.  One of my favorite recipe bloggers is Skinny Taste, and I remembered she had a recipe so I popped over to her blog and found this delicious recipe for zucchini lasagne!   Of course, I can never follow a recipe exactly, so I also added some of Matt’s delicious arugula (I got the idea from my friend, Dana who told me she threw in spinach).  I also had some fresh pesto that I just made Saturday after market and I tossed about a tablespoon of that in with the ricotta cheese mixture.  It was pure perfection!

Many of our customers at market are addicted to our Shishito Peppers!  They are finally coming in full force and will be coming to market this Saturday!

image

This season they are better than ever!  They are big and plump, crisp and delicious.  If you aren’t familiar with these treats, you will love them.  It is so quick and easy to prepare them.  I just take a pan and toss in about a tablespoon of olive oil, turn up the heat and blister then in the pan (throw them right on in, no need to cut them up).  I then toss some sea salt on them and give them a lemon squeeze and eat them up.  I use the stem as my fork!  You can do the same thing on a grill.  It doesn’t get any easier (or tastier) than that! You can also roast them.  Some folks will toss sesame seeds with them, that is awesome as well.

Another new thing coming to market is old fashioned GREEN BEANS!  On my afternoon walk, I picked one right off the plant.  They are so sweet raw.  I can’t wait to serve them up for dinner!

image

There is no sense in serving boring steamed green beans when they are this fresh!  I love to serve them with various vinaigrettes.  If you are a bacon lover, you will love Green Beans with Bacon Vinaggrette!  It is so easy and the bacon gives it a nice smoked flavor!  Matt grows a ton of garlic, so I put it in everything.  I absolutely love this Garlicky Green Beans with Pine Nuts recipe.  Casselmonte Farm is one of our favorite farms and we love to trade with them.  They grow the best mushrooms!  They are right across from us at market.  Since we have green beans, Green Beans with Mushrooms and Crispy Onion Rings will be on our menu!  These recipes call for frozen green beans….don’t listen to them, fresh is best!

Summer is on and so is the harvest!  So, what’s coming to market this week?

  • Salad and Arugula
  • Swiss Chard
  • Kale Galore
  • Squash
  • Onions
  • Fennel
  • Leeks
  • Cabbage
  • Purple and Orange Carrots (the purples sell out fast)
  • Beets (chioggia and yummy golden)
  • Green Beans
  • Shishito Peppers
  • Honey
  • Micro Greens (spicy, kale, arugula, and basil)
  • Basil
  • Squash
  • Eggs

See you at market this Saturday!  We will be there from 8:00-12:00.  Come early to get the best treats!

 

Leave a Reply

