August 6th Market

We had a bit of a challenge on our hands a couple of weeks ago. Mother Nature gave us a double blow.  First, it was so sweltering hot, our arugula, salads, and micro greens had a hard time germinating.  Then, when they finally poked their tiny leaves out of the soil, the horrendous  thunderstorm on July 21st brought hail and pummeled the struggling baby leaves.  That is all said and done!   This week’s  harvest is going to be strong and our arugula, field greens, and micro greens will be back better than ever.

Peach-Salad-3

Picture from Skinnytaste, my favorite recipe blogger

This is my absolute favorite arugula salad recipe from my favorite recipe blogger, Skinnytaste.  The only thing I do different is grill the peaches I get at market from Saunders Brothers  and add some warm goat cheese from Bonnyclabber Cheese.  It makes a nice tasty light side.  If you want to make it a meal, I just slice up a grilled chicken breast for added protein.

This morning I took my morning walk on the farm and tried to decide what I would make for our Sunday dinner.  As I was walking, I saw beautiful petite zucchini, egg plant, tiny carrots, and peppers.  I picked (or pulled) them as I walked and threw them in my basket.  By the time I was finished, I had this:

StirFry

Vegetables I picked on my morning walk.

I decided that I would make a shrimp stir fry for dinner!  I prefer to make my own teriyaki sauce.  It is so easy, you will never buy it again.  It takes 2 minutes to make and has all natural ingredients in it.  It is simple, in a mason jar, I pour 1/4 cup of soy, 1/2 cup of water, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, 5 tablespoons of Black Creek Farm Honey, grated ginger to taste and a minced garlic clove and give the jar a hearty shake.  I start my rice an let it cook while I am chopping vegetables and cooking the shrimp and vegetables.  I cook my shrimp first in a frying pan with sesame oil and put to the side.  I then put my chopped vegetables in the pan until they are slightly cooked, lastly I throw in chopped bok choy and sauté until it is wilted.  I put the shrimp back in and toss with the homemade teriyaki sauce.  I serve it on some jasmine rice and and it is fantastic!  A 30 minute easy, fresh, and simple weeknight meal!  Come see us at market, I can pull together the vegetables to make this an easy go to dinner!

Our Hanover tomatoes are coming in full force!  Our tomatoes are grown down the street from the original location of the Hanover Tomato Festival.  It was originally put on by Dodd’s Farm at the old Black Creek Fire Department.  When Matt was a little boy, he remembers going to the festival and eating the wonderful tomatoes grown close to his home.  Now, the Hanover Tomato Festival is held at Pole Green Park because it got too big! We are living near the land Matt grew up on, and we are growing the most beautiful Hanover Tomatoes this year!  I have had a tomato sandwich for lunch every day!  I also serve them as easy sides.  I cut them super thick and mix 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper, crushed garlic and pour them over the tomatoes.  I then top the tomatoes with parmesan cheese or mozzarella cheese (or both) and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.  I then top with basil micro greens.  They are so good and so simple!

So, what are we bringing to market?

  • Field Greens
  • Arugula
  • Baby Kale Salad
  • Kale
  • Bok Choy
  • Tatsoi
  • Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Egg Plant
  • Leeks
  • Radishes
  • Asian Turnips
  • Beets
  • Shishito Peppers
  • Cherry Tomatoes (Sun Gold and Sun Peach)
  • Hanover Slicing Tomatoes
  • Basil
  • Honey
  • Micro Greens (spicy, kale, arugula, and basil)

See you at the South of the James Farmer’s Market this Saturday!  We will be there from 8:00-12:00.  Come early to get the best treats!

We are looking for farm help.  If you know someone who would like to come and help us harvest, have them message on our Facebook page.

 

Leave a comment